Keep Going!

cloud opening

The squirrels were being extra squirrelly.

Sure hope I don’t run over one of them, I thought as I began my days trip along the bike path. They know a storm’s brewing as they scrimmage from one side of the path to the other.

Besides the jittery animals, the emptiness of the path felt strange. Where was everyone? It seemed we had plenty of time before the downpour. Right? But as I continued to peddle, my uneasiness grew.

Maybe I should turn around and just go home.

The only problem was I couldn’t justify it. Even though I was a soul traveler this particular morning and the feeling was somewhat lonesome, I still believed it was okay to keep going.

So I kept going. For awhile anyway……until I caved.

And it wasn’t a squirrel that took me down, but my doubts and fears when I made a choice to turn a deaf ear to the small voice that knew everything was going to be just fine.

On my return route I began to see human life form; a bicyclist in full gear – goggles and all. A woman covered head to toe – hoodie and all. My people! Others on this path who are willing to take a chance, who are willing to go out on a limb and take risks.

Although I know ultimate strength and courage comes from within, it’s so incredibly comforting to have others traveling along with you. To mirror back that while you may not go with the masses, you’re knowingness can be trusted.

Keep going! It’s safe! You got this!

I rounded the corner to see a few more, then a few more and the reality of it all; I never was alone. It may have seemed that way for a stretch but others were there the whole time.

Although I did cut my ride short because of my uncertainties, it’s okay. I did get some time in and will try again tomorrow. I don’t have to get it right all day, everyday. I just have to suit up, show up and keep going.

 

photo by CBurns

13 thoughts on “Keep Going!

  1. ruthbailey2013

    Again, LOVE this. I shared with my friend who is taking a new job (a really wonderful opportunity). She’s going to nail it, but is scared silly. She loved this and it couldn’t have helped more. Miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

Your feedback is appreciated!

