Inner Guidance System

“We must not be easy in giving credit to every word and suggestion, but carefully and leisurely weigh the matter according to God.” – Thomas a’ Kempis

Every once in a while, when traveling along the bike path, it’s interrupted by street intersections. Although there aren’t any stop signs at these points for traffic, sometimes I find a good Samaritan who will stop and wave for me to go on over. Such a NICE person. So thoughtful and considerate.

The only problem is there is another lane of traffic and the good Samaritan has no way of knowing if that oncoming car is going to stop. As he’s happily waving. Me. To go.

It reminds me of life. So many well intentioned, wonderful, giving, compassionate people ready to assist you. To give their advice and help. Happily waving you to go on across.

The only problem is they, through their limited view of any given situation, cannot make that call. They can’t possibly see everything that’s on the road. Ultimately the only one who can really know its okay to cross over is you.

Sure you can put your trust in the waver overer…..and I suppose that’s okay….as long as you don’t blame them when you get knocked into next Tuesday.

After all, YOU know other cars are coming, don’t you want to give yourself credit in knowing it might not be a good idea? Evaluate, make your own judgments and decide what your next move will be?

Personally, I do have a few people in my life who I talk things over regarding my life happenings. People I trust. People who love and only want the best for me and I wouldn’t trade them in for anything in the world.

However

I have to also learn to trust in myself. My inner guidance system. Live my own life. Wait patiently on the other side, even though others are waving me on.

Ask for guidance on a daily basis from an all-knowing Higher Power. Trust in the gift of common sense. Then I’ll continue when I believe it’s safe to do so while blowing loving kisses to all the wonderful good Samaritans in my life.

6 thoughts on “Inner Guidance System

Your feedback is appreciated!

