Attitude Adjustment

My 6-year-old granddaughter and I have an open dialogue about random life stuff and things we don’t understand.

Once in a while I will even share one of my daily readings with her if I think she will “get it” (BTW she gets it better than I do).

Yesterday she grabbed one of my books, “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff… and it’s all small stuff” by Richard Carlson.

“Oh grandma, I like this one,” she says as she brings the opened book my way.

Think of what you have instead of what you want

 

“Yes this sure is a good one.” (and just what I needed I might add)

I’ve been really caught up in negativity and nonacceptance. There’s a lot of fearful thoughts going on about just about everything and once I get on a roll  -watch out-  Avalanche!!!!!

Today I’m going right into the solution as my granddaughter has CLEARLY led me to, starting with a plain ol’ gratitude list.

Thank you my wise, beautiful granddaughter. As usual, just when I think I’m teaching them…….

What do you do to help get yourself out of the quicksand of negativity? Do Tell 🙂

 

thank you

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

6 thoughts on “Attitude Adjustment

  1. ruthbailey2013

    Cheryl – thanks so much for this. I needed it as I’ve really been in the same place you described…. “Out of the mouths of babes”…… Miss you.

    Like

  2. Beth Ryan

    I love when those everyday miracles occur – and that we are open today to being re-directed even the 6 year old is the messenger! That reading sounds perfect for a writing prompt for Boost -the girls self-esteem class that IS happening this summer at our community center. XO my favorite writing friend!

    Like

  3. Thanks Cheryl!!!!! I Love it!!! And so innocently said!!!! We are never to old to learn from the young ones!!
    Or anyone for that matter!!! What do I do , I pray and if that doesn’t work I call a friend and vent , so then they can tell me how it really is!!!!!!!!! Love SKIP!!!!!! xo

    Like

Your feedback is appreciated!

