The Gift of Choice

The strongest principle of growth lies in human choice. ~ George Eliot

I am choosing not to participate in negativity. Would you like to join me?

I know, I know, what are you going to talk about?  Life is going to be ssoooo boring if you’re not involved in some kind of drama or crisis.

Personally at first I found it very eye-opening.  If I wasn’t talking about someone and their troubles AND what I think they need to do about said troubles, then I was talking about my headache/backache/tiredness/bad weather/debt….and on and on and on and on.

So when I started to really work at this I sadly noticed, I didn’t have much to talk about. Then it became a little depressing when I realized how much I relied on all that “stuff” as conversation pieces.

Thankfully I was reminded by a wise woman that  I’m always right where I’m supposed to be in the process of change.  I mean I was curbing negativity. That’s a good thing right?

It’s my ego that’s uncomfortable.

So I watch it squirm, tug and scratch trying to get in there -at all cost – to avoid the dreaded awkward silence or the off chance, that yes, I might just be boring. (Nnnnnnooooooo!!!!)

It’s funny, so many of us are the same way; we tend to lean into the negative because it’s familiar, easy and if we are to be real honest, temporarily satisfying. I mean who doesn’t enjoy engaging in a little self-pity and/or judgment now and again?   (I do, I do)

Change is hard, but not impossible!

It hard because our old familiar ways are grooves dug in deep like the wagon wheels from the old west as they travelled back and forth, back and forth, lodged on that same heavily used trail.

But it’s not the only trail; it’s just the one that’s been repeatedly used. We can choose to make new grooves. IT IS POSSIBLE TO MAKE NEW GROOVES!

I know we all need to have a bitch fest every once in a while and I’m not talking about being perfect. But can we keep it between one or two closest friends as we set our eyes towards progress?

Today I’ll try to  remember to use my God-given gift of choice as I continue to grow. Will you?

6 thoughts on “The Gift of Choice

  1. Michelle

    Cheryl your blog is becoming what I turn to now when I’m feeling down and I need a spiritual lift. Keep it up girlfriend you have a beautiful gift 💜

    Like

    1. Michelle,
      Thank you for your heartfelt comment. I feel honored and blessed 🙂 You are an inspiration with your talents also. I’m so happy to hear things are going so well for you. But of course when it comes from the heart, it’s always right on!

      Like

Your feedback is appreciated!

